Ambulance Trust of the Year

This award is presented to the Ambulance Trust that has embraced change and demonstrated a decrease in response times, the ability to provide treatment at the scene of an accident, and the provision of outpatient services.

2014 Winner

West Midlands Ambulance Service

West Midlands Ambulance Service has a reputation as one of the leading NHS organisations in the UK. Formed in 2006 following a merger of four ambulance services in the West Midlands, the Trust has progressed to a high performing emergency service attaining foundation trust status in 2013. WMAS serves a population of 5.6 million who live in the areas of Shropshire, Herefordshire, Worcestershire, Warwickshire, Staffordshire and the Birmingham Coventry, Solihull and Black Country conurbation. Successful projects include the implementation of an ambitious £10 million ‘Make Ready plan throughout the region which has resulted in clinicians having their vehicles refuelled, cleaned and restocked in readiness for duty, and the introduction of a range of services that drive down A&E admission rates.

2014 Commended

North West Ambulance Service NHS Trust
Yorkshire Ambulance Service